Loading Events
Screen Shot 2020-12-10 at 11.20.36 AM

It’s that time of year again to fry up some latkes and crack out the menorah — for the third year, we’re joined by the always hungry, nice Jewish boy, OneTable Board Member, Jake Cohen for a very special Hanukkah fundraiser! Not only will you have virtual access to Jake and his challah advice, but you’ll receive an early access copy of his prized challah recipe from his new book JEW-ISH: Reinvented Recipes from a Modern Mensch. The first 20 RSVPs will receive a $50 e-gift card to use on our absolute favorite new Judaica from Via Maris!

Tickets start at $36, and all funds raised from this Hanukkah x challah-making workshop will support OneTable to support more Shabbat dinners for more people all over the country.

OneTable empowers people who don’t yet have a consistent Shabbat dinner practice to build one that feels authentic, sustainable, and valuable. OneTable is a national nonprofit funded to support people (21-39ish) looking to find and share this powerful experience. Our approach to Shabbat dinner is non-prescriptive. We encourage our participants to envision what their gathering might be, and we work alongside them to provide the support they need to create that result. OneTable’s primary goal is for emerging adults to become the producers of their own experiences, and for Shabbat dinner to become a platform for community building. We envision a whole generation of millennials slowing down, joining together, unplugging from the week, creating intention in their lives, and building meaningful communities.

INGREDIENTS TO HAVE:

1 cup water, heated to 115°F

½ cup granulated sugar (100g), divided

¼ ounce (2[1/4] teaspoons) active dry yeast

¼ cup vegetable oil, plus more for greasing

¼ cup honey

4 large eggs, divided

5½ to 6 cups all-purpose flour (743g to 810g), plus more for dusting

2 teaspoons kosher salt

½ tablespoon white sesame seeds, for garnish

Flaky sea salt, for garnish (optional)

SCHEDULE:

11:00am ET/8:00am PT | Assemble dough

1:30pm ET/10:30am PT | Braid

3:00pm ET/12:00pm PT | Finish + bake

Your Own Schedule | Shabbat Shalom! Eat + enjoy

*Note, final recipe will be shared an hour before the event.

  • This event has passed.

OneTable Live | Jake Cohen’s Third Annual Hanukkah

Friday, Dec. 11, 2020 @ 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM

accessibility friendlyhearing impaired accessibleThe full inclusion of people of all abilities is a core value of the Pittsburgh Jewish Community. Please discuss accessibility accommodations with the contact person for this event.

Venue

Virtual
6424 Forward Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15217 United States
+ Google Map
Event Website
Categories

Organizer

OneTable
Phone:
412-532-4634
Email:
lianne@onetable.org
Website:
https://onetable.org/
Tags

Submit Your Event
Community Calendar Tips
For calendar support contact [email protected].

To view candle lighting times for locations other than Pittsburgh, visit Chabad.org.